Week 2: The Human Body. Body Image

So this week we are talking about the human body, more specifically body image. So what is body image? Is it something that an individual defines or is it something others define? Merriam-Webster defines body image as “a subjective picture of one’s own physical appearance established both by self-observation and by noting the reactions of others.” So it is a combination of the two. You are make an evaluation of your own body while taking into account how others are reacting to your body.

One thing has happened recently in the news. A picture posted by Calvin Klein. The ad campaign “I __ in my Calvins” revealed a new photograph showing an upskirt of a woman with the caption, “I flash in my Calvins”. Many of the previous versions saw stars such as Justin Beiber or Fetty Wap with the captions “I glow in my Calvins” and “I make money in my Calvins”. However with the new set of pictures saw the release of “I flash in my Calvins.” Many people in the comments called it misogynistic or disgusting. While I understand the outrage, I also believe that this picture shows women taking back their body. One Youtuber, who I highly recommend and often agree with, named Philip Defranco said, “women have lived through times where they were valued only for their looks. Many places boiling them down to objects that have only one thing to offer that is their looks. But what I personally see with this ad campaign is generations of women taking back their sexuality.” I wholeheartedly agree with this. As Philip goes on further to say, “It says ‘I blank‘ not ‘she blank’, ‘he blank’ but ‘I blank'”. Women have the power to do what they wish with their body and do not need to listen to others.

Moving to a slightly different discussion about body image. I am a 5’8 and 115 pounds male. For the entirety of my life (a very long 20 years!) I have been called skinny. I was once comfortable with my body and was totally alright with my body image since the reactions were only from my family. I believed the reactions were only joking comments, comments with some truth but nothing hurtful to make me change significantly. However I have understood that they were doing it for my health. That being so skinny could be dangerous health wise going further. But I have not even changed one bit. I have just taken it into account and have not acted towards it. That is probably my fault, probably because I am lazy. But what if I was a woman. Would I be treated the same? No way. Not a single person would be alright with the way I looked. Because I am skinny I will be shamed for it. Because I am a woman I will be shamed. Body Image is only a problem seen with women. Men never seem to have a problem with it. I personally am not shamed for my body but a woman in my position would certainly be.

Women have the right to their own body just like men do. If a woman wishes, under no pressure, to show an up-skirt picture of herself, she has every right to do it. Let’s grab the definition of feminism. It is “the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men.” Equality to Men, that is what feminism is.

Leave a comment